High-Level Architecture of SAP

  • By Bhagwat Bhokare
  • January 5, 2024
  • SAP
High-Level Architecture of SAP

High-Level Architecture of SAP

High-Level Architecture of SAP is mainly divided into two parts.

  • Technical Architecture 
  • Platform-independent architecture or System Landscape 

High-Level Architecture of SAP 

For Free, Demo classes Call:  020-71173116

Registration Link: Click Here!

  • Technical Architecture.

 Let’s understand what is technical architecture.

The technical architecture of SAP refers to a systematic arrangement of elements that are needed for deploying and running SAP software. It involves the hardware, software, and network components, carefully arranged to ensure better integration, scalability, and optimal performance.

The technical architecture consists of:

  1. Presentation layer 
  2. Application Layer 
  3. Database layer 

It is also called a Presentation, Application, and Database Server.

High-Level Architecture of SAP

1.1 Presentation Server:

The presentation layer or server in SAP is the layer that interacts with the user. It is responsible for displaying data to the user and receiving input from the user. The presentation layer is typically implemented using SAP GUI (Graphical User Interface) that can be installed on a variety of different devices now Fiori is also available for S4HANA.


1.2 Application Server:

The application layer in SAP is the layer that contains the business logic of the system. It is responsible for processing user requests and generating the appropriate responses.


The application layer is also responsible for interacting with the other layers in the SAP architecture. For example, it may need to communicate with the presentation layer to display data to the user or with the database layer to retrieve data from the database.


For Free, Demo classes Call:  020-71173116

Registration Link: Click Here!

1.3 Database Server: 

The database layer in SAP is the layer that stores the system’s data. It is typically implemented using a relational database management system (RDBMS), such as SAP HANA or Oracle Database. 


The database layer is responsible for storing and retrieving data in response to requests from the application layer. It is also responsible for ensuring the integrity and security of the data.


  • Platform independent architecture or System Landscape.


The system landscape is divided into three parts.

  1. Development System or client. 
  2. Quality/Test System or Client.
  3. Production System or Client.


(Note: Here client refers to a Three (ex. 000-999) digit key which we at the time of log in)

High-Level Architecture of SAP

  1. Development system:  It a system where developers work on configuring and customizing SAP Software according to customer requirements.

All the changes and developments are made in this system before being transported to another system.


  • Quality/Test system:

This system is used for testing configurations, development, and integrations. It allows organizations to validate changes in a controlled environment before moving them to production.


  • Production System:

The production system is the live environment where end-users perform their day-to-day activities.

Do visit our channel to know more: Click Here


Bhagwat Bhokare

Call the Trainer and Book your free demo Class for SAP now!!!

© Copyright 2021 | SevenMentor Pvt Ltd

Submit Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *